Article by: Adrienne Suhm

The energy systems within the body known as chakras are focused on the intersection between matter and consciousness. The word chakra, first used in the Sanskrit tradition as early as 2500BCE, translates directly to “wheel” or “disk.” This concept refers to the different wheels of energy within the body. Ideally, each chakra is open so that the energy of life, called Prana, may flow continuously through the chakras from the base of the spine up to the top of the head.

By now, you may be wondering what each chakra actually looks like. Here’s a guide to all you need to know about the seven chakras, including their associated gemstones and healing crystals:

First Chakra: Muladhara

Location: the first three vertebrae, bladder, and colon

Element: earth

Colors: red

Sense: smell

Related Gemstones: Agate, Black Tourmaline, Bloodstone, Garnet, Obsidian, Ruby, Smoky Quartz

Related Essential Oils: Cedar, Clove, Cypress, Marjoram, Myrrh

Second Chakra: Svadhisthana

Location: the pubic bone

Element: water

Colors: orange

Sense: taste

Related Gemstones: Amber, Carnelian, Coral, Garnet, Moonstone, Orange Tourmaline

Related Essential Oils: Ylang-Ylang, Sandalwood

Third Chakra: Manipura

Location: from the navel to the breastbone

Element: fire

Colors: yellow

Sense: sight

Related Gemstones: Amber, Citrine, Jasper, Golden Topaz, Yellow Tourmaline

Related Essential Oils: Bergamot, Chamomile, Lavender, Golden Yarrow, Peppermint, Rosemary

Fourth Chakra: Anahata

Location: the heart center

Element: air

Colors: green or pink

Sense: touch

Related Gemstones: Emerald, Green Jade, Green Tourmaline, Malachite, Rose Quartz

Related Essential Oils: Lavender, Jasmine, Marjoram

Fifth Chakra: Vishuddha

Location: the throat

Element: sound or ether

Colors: blue

Sense: hearing

Related Gemstones: Angelite, Aquamarine, Azurite, Blue Opal, Blue Quartz, Chryoscolla, Lapis, Turquoise

Related Essential Oils: Eucalyptus, Frankincense, SageLink

Sixth Chakra: Ajna

Location: between the eyebrows

Element: light

Colors: indigo

Sense: extra sensory perception

Related Gemstones: Amethyst, Lapis Lazuli, Purple Fluorite, Sugalite, Quartz

Related Essential Oils: Mint, Jasmine

Seventh Chakra: Sahaswara

Location: At the crown of the head

Element: thought

Colors: violet/white

Sense: empathy, unity

Related Gemstones: Amber, Diamond, Moldavite

Related Essential Oils: Blilbanum or Lotus

Disruptions in the free flow of energy throughout your body are attributed to blocked chakras, which can manifest both physically and emotionally. For example, headaches could mean that your sixth chakra is blocked, whereas trouble with speaking your mind could indicate a blockage in your fifth chakra. There are a variety of methods to rebalance the chakras, including mindfulness, meditation, yoga, nutritional therapy, aromatherapy, and crystal therapy. Aromatherapy involves the use of essential oils that corresponds with your blocked chakra. You can smell oils directly from the bottle, spread them in a diffuser, or rub a drop on the insides of your wrists. While there is limited scientific evidence to support the medical efficacy of healing crystals, spiritual healers have used crystals to rebalance the chakras for centuries. You can hold or pocket a gemstone that corresponds with the blocked chakra to re-align your energy. Experiment with one of these methods (or all of them!) to promote more vibrant, healthy chakras.